Skip to main content

Business Leadership Celebration

Event info

28th Annual Business Leadership Celebration

Thursday, November 14, 2019
5:15 – 9:00 pm

Join University of Washington Foster School of Business for a special evening as we honor inspiring leaders who’ve made significant contributions to the business community. The evening will feature Foster’s new Dean, Frank Hodge, and special presentations by Foster thought leaders. Over 450 business leaders, Foster supporters, and students attend. Event proceeds directly support Foster School of Business student scholarships and fellowships.

Celebrate this year’s Distinguished Leadership Awardees:

Brad Tilden
Brad Tilden

EMBA 1997, CEO of Alaska Airlines

Shelly Reynolds
Shelley Reynolds

BA 1987, VP: Worldwide Controller of Amazon

Sponsorship opportunities

Premier Sponsorships include logo placement in the written program and on wall displays, recognition from the podium, access to the Awardees Reception, and Gold Table benefits. Additional benefits included according to the specific sponsorships listed below.

Opening Reception Sponsor – $15,000

Significant signage at public reception.

Program Sponsor – $10,000

Program and podium mentions in conjunction with featured presentations, priority seating for up to eight guests.

Dean’s Table Sponsor – $10,000

Priority seating for six at dinner, prominent logo display at event and in written program, prominent table placement and seating with Dean Hodge and school leaders.

Awardees Reception Sponsor – $10,000

Significant signage at dessert reception, branded sponsored table.

Media Sponsor – $10,000

Recognition in written program distributed to all guests.

Giveaway Sponsor – $10,000

Option to include custom giveaway at Celebration.

Unless specified otherwise, each Premier Sponsorship includes logo placement in the written program, recognition from the podium, and Gold Table benefits.

Gold Table Sponsorship – $5,000

Includes recognition on event website, printed event program, and Foster BUSINESS magazine listing as well as priority seating for up to eight guests at. Additional benefits included according to the specific sponsorships listed below.

If you’d like to sponsor student attendees, please contact us directly. A portion of every sponsorship supports education at the University of Washington Foster School of Business and is tax deductible.

For questions or to support this event and business education at the UW, please contact:

Steven Hatting
Associate Dean for Advancement
[email protected].

Past distinguished leadership award recipients and speakers

Keynote Speaker: Barry McCaffrey
Retired Four-Star General
Award Recipients:
Pete Shimer (BA ’84), Nancy Zevenbergen (BA ’81), Firoz Lalji, Martin Selig (BA ’59)
2017 Keynote Speaker James Whittaker
Keynote Speaker: James Whittaker
Award Recipients:
Companies of the Century – Boeing, PACCAR and Nordstrom
2016 Keynote Speaker Margo Georgiadis
Keynote Speaker: Margo Georgiadis
President for the Americas, Google
Board Member, McDonald’s
Award Recipients:
Gary Wipfler (UW ’81), Jeffrey Brotman (UW ’64, JD ’67)
2015 Keynote Speaker John W. Thompson
Keynote Speaker: John W. Thompson
CEO, Virtual Instruments; Chairman of the Board, Microsoft
Award Recipients: Gary Furukawa (UW ’81), John Jacobi (UW ’62), Steve Singh
2014 Keynote Speaker Robert A. Iger
Keynote Speaker: Robert A. Iger
Chairman & CEO, The Walt Disney Company
Award Recipients: Dan Baty (BA ’65), Kemper Freeman (UW ’63), Nancy Jacob (BA ’67)
2013 Keynote Speaker Richard Kovacevich
Keynote Speaker: Richard Kovacevich
Chairman Emeritus, Wells Fargo & Company
Award Recipients: David Bonderman (BA ’63), Tom Crowley (BA ’89), Dan Fulton (MBA ’76), Kate Kingen (BA ’09)
2012 Keynote Speaker Alan Mulally
Keynote Speaker: Alan Mulally
President & Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Ford Motor Company
Award Recipients: Howard Behar, Dorrit Bern (BA ’72), Don Root (BA ’61)
2011 Keynote Speaker Jamie Dimon
Keynote Speaker: Jamie Dimon
President & Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, JPMorgan Chase
Award Recipients: L. Patrick Hughes (BA ’57), John N. Nordstrom (BA ’59), Bruce A. Nordstrom (BA ’55)
2010 Keynote Speaker Mark Parker
Keynote Speaker: Mark Parker
President & Chief Executive Officer, Nike, Inc.
Award Recipients: Charles K. Barbo (BA ’63), Mark A. Emmert (BA ’75), Jon F. Hemingway (BA ’79)
2009 Keynote Speaker Marilyn Carlson Nelson
Keynote Speaker: Marilyn Carlson Nelson
Chairman of Carlson
Award Recipients: Phyllis Campbell (MBA ’87), Chris DeWolfe (BA ’88), Don Nielsen (BA ’60)
2008 Keynote Speaker Reggie Fils-Aime
Keynote Speaker: Reggie Fils-Aime
President & COO Nintendo of America, Inc.
Award Recipients: Gerald Grinstein, Eileen O’Neill Odum (BA ’77), Mark Pigott
2007 Keynote Speaker Jim McNerney
Keynote Speaker: Jim McNerney
CEO The Boeing Company
Award Recipients: William S. Ayer (MBA ’78), Leslie Koo (BA ’77), Ray Williams (BA ’59)
2006 Keynote Speaker Clayton I. Bennett
Keynote Speaker: Clayton I. Bennett
Owner of the Seattle SuperSonics and Storm
Award Recipients: Lex N. Gamble (BA ’59), Sally Jewell, Leonard H. Lavin
2005 Keynote Speaker John Connors
Keynote Speaker: John Connors
Partner at Ignition; Former CFO Microsoft
Award Recipients: Gary Shansby (BA ’59), Budd Gould (BA ’62)
2004 Keynote Speaker Mike McGavick
Keynote Speaker: Mike McGavick
CEO Safeco Corporation
Award Recipients: Stanley B. McDonald (BA ’43), Yoshihiko Miyauchi (MBA ’60)
2003 Keynote Speaker Jeffrey Immelt
Keynote Speaker: Jeffrey Immelt
CEO General Electric
Award Recipients: Herb T. Mead (BA ’56), Wallace E. Opdycke (BA ’59), William P. Kinnune, Jr. (BA ’61), Y. K. Park (BA ’59)
Keynote Speaker: Kevin Sharer
CEO Amgen
Award Recipients: Alice W. Sandstrom (BA ’34), Michael Garvey, Gary E. Milgard (BA ’57)
Keynote Speaker: John W. Stanton
CEO Western Wireless Corporation; Former CEO Voice Stream/T-Mobile
Award Recipients: Marion O. Garrison (BA ’39), George Kozmetsky (BA ’38), Orin C. Smith (BA ’65)
Keynote Speaker: James K. Glassman
Financial and Political Analyst
Award Recipients: Neal Dempsey (BA ’64), Wayne M. Perry (BA ’72), William C. Huang
Keynote Speaker: Richard Karlgaard
Publisher Forbes Magazine
Award Recipients: Norman J. Metcalfe (BA/BS ’65, MBA ’67), Edward V. Fritzky, Charles M. Lillis (BA ’68, MBA ’69)
Keynote Speaker: Howard Schultz
CEO Starbucks Coffee Company
Award Recipients: William A. Fowler (BA ’66), Kerry Killinger
Keynote Speaker: Andy Grove
CEO Intel
Award Recipients: Kirby L. Cramer (MBA ’62), William H. Gates III
Keynote Speaker: David Coulter
CEO Bank of America
Award Recipients: John W. Ellis, Michael L. Darland (BA ’65, MUP ’69)
Keynote Speaker: John H. Eyler, Jr.
CEO FAO Schwarz
Award Recipients: Arthur W. Buerk, Jr. (BA ’58), Sally Narodick
Keynote Speaker: David R. Hinson
Administrator Federal Aviation Administration
Award Recipients: James B. Douglas (BA ’30), Ron D. Crockett, Charles M. Pigott
Keynote Speaker: Ambassador Rozanne Ridgway
Former Ambassador to East Germany and Finland
Award Recipients: Andrew V. Smith
Keynote Speaker: Alan Greenspan
Federal Reserve Board Chairman
Award Recipients: Richard P. Cooley, Elmer Nordstrom (BA ’26), Everett Nordstrom (BA ’23), Lloyd Nordstrom, Frank A. Shrontz, Samuel N. Stroum